BUtterfly MInefield


Vacated all the minefields
I detour through my landfills
and I’m standing on the foothills
poised above the mire
and I picture myself in fields of green
and remember things we’ve never seen
and it gives me trouble
gives me trouble getting higher
And the perspiration’s plenty
as the air stagnates at 90
but I burn another fire
I burn another fire
The butterflies gone swarming
round the spirals of my shame
rise up with the ashes
brand my heart
pull me apart
and put me back together
as I’m not quite who I was…
but then tell me was I ever?
For I have no understanding
of the things that I’ve done right
force fed another cigarette
from my pleasure pyres
I’m forced to light
a bomb of mutilation
the loss of my salvation
when hell becomes oblivion
I’ll know my destination
‘Cos I’m still living in the past
with the things I can’t forget
I found the proof, denied the truth
and I ain’t changing yet
But I never wanted this at all
I never wanted to watch us fall
didn’t want your truth
your fucked up lies
your shame
your guilt
your alibis
the sweet deceit cried tears from eyes
the napalm rain from bleeding skies
the innocence your love denies
when you cover up your lies
And though I’ve seen the truth
in my own way
from bloody birth
to warm decay
whilst thinking out these thoughts I say
burying debts I can’ repay
Wrapped around my perfect lay
such beauty means I cannot stay
to see my hopes get blown away…
…to watch the light begin to end
as dream perspectives start to bend
I look to you and scream my friend
I scream my friend
I scream my friend
I’m still living in the past
With the things I can’t forget
I found the proof, denied the truth
And I aint changing yet
And I aint changing yet
The butterflies still float on by
To cloud and drown the swirling sky
My maddened mind begins to swim
and starts to drown in darkened sin
You look to me and scream my friend
You scream my friend
You know I’ll hurt you in the end
Tip the bottle
Drink again
Pop the pill
Time to kill
And the world spins
Tripping on
And I never wanted this at all
didn’t want my floating dreams to fall
didn’t want your truth
your fucked up lies
your shame
your guilt
your alibis
the sweet deceit cried tears from eyes
our neat illusions
our demise
the innocence your love defies
when we cover up our lies

2 responses to this post.

  1. The way you speak of lies in your song reminds me of a song ‘Gandalf – You Upset The Grace of Living’, which I also admire very much ^_^

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

