Can’t Tax Love

My mind is going round in circles lately
and I cant find a way to try and escape me
with the world that is giving me the things I am taking
my mind is flowing but my hearts f’ing breaking
and I try to move on try to move on
stuck in the basement and I’m feeling so wrong

Stuck in the basement feeling at war?
walk to the lift rise to the ground floor
Stuck in the basement feeling at war?
walk to the lift rise to the ground floor

Who runs the government?
We run the government
Who runs the government?
We run the government

cAn't tAx lOve - tHis tWisted yOuth

Coz the ground floor its in technicolour
no dreary grey and they got real butter
a bit less lying thieving and cheating
but everyone’s rushing round and competing
no man steps to me as a brother
getting high, selling crack to each other
but I just want a break from the norm
shoot my mind straight through the storm

Moving up to the second floor
straight past the first with the fighting and the war
where greed is still preoccupation
and peoples’ egos need masturbating
still got hunger with no abating
bit more love and a bit less hating
No ones truth self radiating
so I pause in the lift
and my game is raising

Coz I seen grown men cry when goodness dies
I seen people steal and kill and f’ing lie
I seen this world and I see why
Nothing really change
’til I be changing I
I be changing I
I be changing I

So I jump past the middle and I move to the top
where the goodness lives and the short sight stops
rapid period of mind expansion
readjust to drop the tension
where true love flows like medication
can spin you round reduce sedation
Lift all up can lift whole nations
fear and doubts just radiation
hope times ten my inspiration
sold halo souls this worlds creation
billion years of evolution counting
pushed me on to f’ing new wave ranting
seen the problems man they look like mountains
stand above them,
stand above your understanding
stand above your understanding
stand above your understanding

Who run the government? We run the government

Acceptance peace and good intentions
pushed my faith past apprehension
got my love to much to mention
save it up like a karmic pension
getting interest on a daily basis
hit by a bus but sh’t can’t erase this
setting up positive stasis
giving up on the negative playlist
truthful living up on the hit list
drawing breath to make clear choices

Who run the government? We run the government

Did you f’ing know that your vote doesn’t count?
did you f’ing know that it’s worth no amount
coz the people at the top be living at the bottom
supported by the rich, it’s not easy to stop ’em
less you look at what ya spending
bending who you give the power to
through what you’re f’ing buying

We run the government
We run the government

Push ‘gainst the world feeling at war?
Walk to the lift man rise to the top floor
love is reflected love keeps you warm
Love can’t be taxed and love can’t be torn
Love can’t be taxed and love can’t be torn
Love can’t be taxed and love can’t be torn

(By the f’ing government
By the f’ing government)

cAn't tAx lOve - tHis tWisted yOuth

Who run the government?
We run the government

Leave a Reply

