King of my Mingdom


I am the king of my mingdom

Hear me roar like a sparrow

Iconoclastic procrastinator

Alcoholic investigator irreverent

My pipe dreams sold to the sneakiest bidder

 

For I am the king of my mingdom

Watch me leap like an elephant

Over England’s soft tainted turf

Assimilating less than I digest

No consumption of preliminary problems

As for common will, I will always prevail

 

For I am the king of my mingdom

Watch me soar like an ostrich on high

Delusional and dirtied by foibles

Yet still I circle back to buy more

 

For I am the king of my mingdom

And oh, how I fail when I try

So give me antidepressants

Take my money, be happy and smile

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m not sure if I have mingdom right, is this it? http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=mingdom

    Like

    Reply

    • Lol, no, not quite right. I modified it from the slang ‘mingin’’ which apparently comes from:

      A Glasgow slang word, for stinkin, terrible etc

      “The house was mingin” meaning it was dirty, smelly, the kind with sticky carpets!!
      the garbage bin has not been emptied for weeks–mingin
      Evolved to mean anything rotten, she was mingin…. stinkin

      http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=mingin‘

      The poem stretches the meaning to include all that is rotten and stinks in our lives that we so often readily accept.

      ie.

      “The country was mingin” meaning it was dirty, stinking and corrupt, the kind with blood on it’s hands that no one really talked about!!

      Hope that clears things up a little!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

